Holiday Happenings

Holiday Happenings

As per tradition, faculty and staff celebrated good tidings of the holiday season and the end of another year during the University’s annual holiday party in the Hafter Student Center on the Friday, December 15. As always the event was well attended and filled with laughter and good cheer. Members of the University’s President’s Council dressed in festive holiday gear while passing appetizers to guests, who also enjoyed a full buffet from Williamson’s Culinart staff, all while enjoying games, door prizes and each other’s company with music from resident DJ JR Burrs playing in the background.

The event also serves as the perfect opportunity to recognize the institution’s hard working and dedicated faculty and staff for their years of service.
This year’s service award recipients were:
5 years
Venita Cromartie, patient representative, The Eye Institute
Dr. Lauren Sponseller, chair, Department of Occupational Therapy Program
Dr. Girija Sundar, director, Distance Education Programs, Osborne College of Audiology
Thomas Greco, institutional service clerk
Jamie Lindsay, interim associate director, Externship Program, Pennsylvania College of Optometry
Dr. Michelle Britchkow, assistant professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry
Andrew (Blaine) Carfagno, senior database administrator
Jayne Mangini, administrative assistant, Occupational Therapy Program
Steven Lee
Dr. Martin Pienkowski, associate professor, Osborne College of Audiology
Maureen Owens, controller
Alfred Luton
Larry Smith
Dr. William Monaco, associate director, Public Health Programs
10 years
June Dunwell, secretary, Admissions
Monica Maisto, director, Admissions
Tiffany White
Kerry Lueders, assistant professor, College of Education and Rehabilitation, co-director, Low Vision Rehabilitation Program
Dr. John Snyder, assistant professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry
Dana Major, research
Alycia Miller, ophthalmic technician
Dr. Alexandre Pertzev, senior research associate
Lyvonia Fennell
15 years
Celeste Tucker, assistant director, The Eye Institute
Deborah Anderson, contact lens, The Eye Institute
Kristine Harvey-Stinson, manager, Help Desk
Dr. Alexander Dizhoor, research
Dr. Elena Olshevskaya, research
Dr. Igor Peshenko, research

20 years
Lynne Corboy, director, Institutional Advancement
Karen Greave, administrative assistant, Institutional Advancement
25 years
Geraldine Cunningham, patient representative, The Eye Institute
Paula Kane, administrative coordinator, Osborne College of Audiology
Donald Kates, vice president, Finance
30 years
Dr. Jean Pagani, associate professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry
Dr. Maria Parisi, associate professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry
Robert Atkinson, technical services
35 years
Dr. Mitchell Scheiman, director, Biomedicine and dean, Research
Marcy Graboyes, associate professor, College of Education and Rehabilitation
40 years
Nancy Griffin, associate director, Admissions
Dr. Jeffrey Nyman, associate professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry
Dr. Richard Brilliant, professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry
45 years
Dr. Thomas Lewis, professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry
Other celebrations took place on campus earlier in the month. On Thursday, December 7, the Office of International and Continuing Education hosted the second annual MSc Mixed Cohort Holiday Party. Students in the cohort, who have been on campus since October, hail from China, Thailand, Saudi Arabia and India. Since many are away from home for the first time, students, staff and faculty joined together for a potluck feast featuring traditional meals from each of the students’ individual home countries for all to enjoy.

The festive celebrations continued on both December 18 and 19 at staff and faculty at the University’s three clinical facilities – The Eye Institute (TEI), Pennsylvania Ear Institute (PEI) and Speech-Language Institute (SLI) competed in a holiday door decorating contest.

Salus University Door Decorating ContestPresident Dr. Michael H. Mittelman and vice president for Academic Affairs, Dr. Janice Scharre, served as judges. The contest entries were judged based on their level of creativity and how well they embraced the holiday spirit.

TEI winners
1st place: Drs. Jenewein & Labib - “The night before Christmas at TEI”
2nd place: Administrative Staff (decorated by Marisa Jones) - “A Cornea Christmas”
3rd place: Drs. Kenny & DeMoss – “Happy Low Vision Holidays”
SLI & PEI winners:
1st place (tie): PEI - “Have Yourself an Audiology Christmas” and SLI - “An International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) Christmas List”
2nd place: SLI - “Singing Loud for all to Hear”
3rd place: PEI - “A Classic Christmas Scene”

From all of us at Salus University, we want to wish everyone a happy and healthy holiday season!