2019 Lighthouse Award Recipient
Alan Lindy

Alan LindyAlan Lindy, president of Lindy Communities,  was named the 2019 "Lighthouse Award" winner presented by the University. He accepted the award at the 13th annual Looking Out for Kids (LOFK) charity event on Saturday, Nov. 2, at the Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, 4200 City Ave., Philadelphia.

Lindy was nominated for the award because of he and his family's longstanding relationship with and commitment to recognizing the value and importance of quality vision care to ensure academic success for school-age children. Lindy’s personal and corporate support, as well as his leadership within the community, make him a worthy recipient of the award.

Past Recipients

2018 - Donna Frisby-Greenwood, president and CEO of the Fund for the School District of Philadelphia

2017 - Shelly Yanoff, former Executive Director of Public Citizens for Children and Youth (PCCY)

2016 - Honorable Risa Vetri Ferman - Montgomery County Court of Common Pleas

About the Lighthouse Award
Lighthouse Award - Looking Out for KidsSince its inception, Salus University and its clinical facilities have been dedicated to protecting, promoting, and improving health and well-being through the delivery of outstanding health sciences education, leading-edge research, patient care, and community service to diverse populations in the United States and worldwide. The “Looking Out for Kids” (LOFK) vision care initiative and fundraiser was first held  in 2007 and is emblematic of the Salus mission to make a difference in the communities we serve in Philadelphia and its surrounding communities. In reflection and recognition of the continuing success of this program, Salus University created the Lighthouse Award for stellar, selfless, path finding community service in 2016. 
Those nominated for this prestigious award are beacons of light and sources of strength in the community in which they live, work, and serve above and beyond their occupations. Annually, one or more Lighthouse Award recipients will be nominated, selected and then honored for their extraordinary service that substantially benefits the health and well-being of disadvantaged and underserved children and youth in the greater Philadelphia area.