AudiologyNOW! 2018 Conference

AudiologyNOW Conference 2018The American Academy of Audiology (AAA) held its annual AudiologyNOW! meeting in Nashville, Tenn. April 18 -21 at the Music City Center to celebrate the academy's 30th anniversary. The annual event allows participants to take part in educational workshops, explore the latest in hearing technology, and network with colleagues from across the country. AAA is currently the world's largest professional organization of audiologists and has more than 12,000 active members.

Alumni, faculty, students and advisory board members of Salus University’s Osborne College of Audiology (OCA) attended AudiologyNOW! and enjoyed the open house reception, reunion and celebration.

Jonette Owen Award at AAAOCA was also well represented with presentations from Radhika Aravamudhan, PhD, assistant dean for the Foundations and Assessment of Audiologic Medicine; Rebecca Blaha, AuD instructor; Bre Myers, AuD assistant professor; and Jonette Owen, AuD assistant professor. Dr. Owen received the Blue-Ribbon Excellence Award for her poster, Vetting Process of Off-Campus Clinical Sites: The First Step to a Higher Level of Clinical Education. New this year, two OCA students also presented a poster - Monica Skarzynski ‘19AUD and Jamie Lantz ‘19AUD.

Alumni of the Year Award Recipient

It’s become a tradition for the Audiology Alumnus of the Year Award to be given out at the open house reception. This year, the Salus University Alumni Association was proud to recognize Angela Morris, AuD ’03. The award is presented to an alumnus/alumna of the University’s Osborne College of Audiology (OCA) or the PCO School of Audiology who has distinguished himself/herself through extraordinary service and contributions to the profession of audiology, bringing honor and prestige to Salus University and OCA.

Angela Morris“Angela truly embodies the drive, compassion, excellence and professionalism that we have grown to expect from our Salus graduates,” said University President, Michael H. Mittelman, OD’80, MPH, FAAO, FACHE.

Dr. Morris has always been a strong advocate of the Osborne College of Audiology, recently serving on the Class of 2003 committee to solicit classmates for contributions to dedicate a campus bench in memory of Dr. Osborne and in honor of her class of 2003. Dr. Morris has held numerous leadership roles on both state and national professional levels, including president of the Academy of Doctors of Audiology (ADA) and president of the Kentucky Academy of Audiology. She was also recently elected to the National Academies of Practice, in which she will be installed at the annual conference later this year. She remains on the Executive Board for the ADA as immediate past president and serves on additional ADA committees. She is also a current board member of The Audiology Project. Dr. Morris’ involvement does not stop there — Dr. Morris is also an active member of the local community, and is an elected school board member for Corbin, Ky.,  Independent School System, a Cub Scout leader, and a member of the Kiwanis Club, Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Tri County and Leadership East Kentucky.