Andrew Gurwood, OD ‘89, FAAO, Resident ‘90, is a professor of Clinical Sciences in the University’s Pennsylvania College of Optometry (PCO) and co-chief of Suite 3 at The Eye Institute (TEI). He is also an attending clinical staff member of Albert Einstein Medical Center, Department of Ophthalmology.

Dr. Andrew GurwoodHe has lectured and published nationally and internationally on a wide range of subjects in the arena of ocular disease. Dr. Gurwood currently serves on the editorial boards of Review of Optometry where he also serves as the Chair of the Clinical Case Reports Committee. He is on the editorial review boards of Optometric Management Journal, Clinical and Experimental Optometry (Aus), and The Spanish Journal: Optometry. He is a founding member of the Optometric Retina Society, a member of The Optometric Glaucoma Society, a charter (founding) member of The Optometric Dry Eye Society, chair of the Buxmont Optometric Society Continuing Education Committee and serves as the Diagnostic Quiz Columnist for Review of Optometry Journal.

“Dr. Gurwood has been a teacher and mentor to thousands of practicing optometrists through his role at Salus University, a peer-educator from the podium and in print for nearly 30 years,” said Alan Kabat, OD ’90, FAAO, in his nomination for the Albert Fitch Memorial Alumnus of the Year. From student to resident to faculty member, Dr. Kabat, PCO professor, emphasized Andrew’s commitment to the University throughout his career, staying active in organized optometry at the local and state levels. “In addition to being an outstanding educator, Dr. Gurwood is an exceptional clinician, seeing patients at both TEI and Einstein Medical Center,” he said.

This award is presented to an alumnus of the Pennsylvania College of Optometry who has distinguished himself/herself through extraordinary service and contributions to the profession of optometry, bringing honor and prestige to Salus and PCO. It is with pride that the University’s Alumni Association names Dr. Gurwood as the Albert Fitch Memorial Alumnus of the Year.