Glitz and Glamour at the Awards Gala

Salus students, faculty, and staff members gathered on Friday, February 8, for the University’s fifth annual Salus Awards Gala (SAG), hosted by the Campus Activities Committee, after it was rescheduled from November 15, 2018 when a heavy snow storm took the area by surprise.

Again held at Normandy Farm Hotel in Blue Bell, Pa., the community arrived in their best dresses and suits ready to celebrate the achievements and successes of their colleagues – reminiscent of The Oscars or the Grammys.

Student Awards Gala 2019
As tradition, awards were given out after the full buffet dinner. Congratulations to all of the awardees!  
The Pinnacle Award - established last year to honor a student that demonstrates leadership outside of the classroom, was given to Annie Bea Govan ‘20OD. Those who win this award demonstrate leadership in various roles such as serving as a teaching assistant, laboratory assistant, mentor, tour guide, tutor, ambassador, or other interactive role increasing engagement with new and future students.

“I appreciate you all and I hope that I have done, said something, or even given a smile to brighten someone’s day,” Govan said.
Melissa Trego, OD, PhD, dean of the University’s Pennsylvania College of Optometry, was awarded the Onofrey G. Rybachok Memorial Educator of the Year Award, in recognition of her demonstrated excellence as an educator and outstanding contributions towards the academic achievements of the Salus and PCO student community.

“I am grateful for this award,” Dr. Trego said. “I love teaching and the best part of my job is all of you.”
Lombardi Emerging Professional Award
The Lombardi Emerging Professional award honors a standout student leader in one of the University’s 15 programs, and was given to Kristen Ramos ‘20AUD.

“There are so many incredible student leaders at Salus, and I feel humbled and proud to be a part of this amazing community with amazing mentors and leaders,” she said.

Helping Hand   
The Helping Hand award is presented to the most approachable and/or caring staff member at Salus University. This is someone who goes above and beyond to help students ensure their success.

Jackie Hamlett (Miss Jackie), Reflections Café  
Steadfast Service   
The Steadfast Service award is presented to the most supportive and dedicated department at Salus University, which can be awarded to any department and is not limited to departments within Academic Affairs.

The Office of Safety and Security
Student Organization Advisor of the Year            
The Student Organization Advisor of the Year award is presented to the most dedicated faculty or staff member that serves as an adviser to a student organization. This faculty or staff member goes above and beyond their role in order to help the organization meet their overall mission and goals.

Monae Kelsey, associate director of student engagement and assistant director of admissions
Student Organization of the Year (Crozier Cup)    

The Crozier Cup is presented to the most outstanding student organization of the year for its tremendous contribution to student, campus and community life.

Sexuality and Gender Alliance at Salus (SAGAS)              

Social Event of the Year                
The Social Event of the Year award is presented to the student group that had provided a remarkable opportunity to encourage student involvement and for students to interact positively with their peers and the Salus community.

Salus Ambassadors Dean’s Winterfest
Spirit of Salus Community Service  
The Spirit of Salus Community Service award is presented to the student organization that displays outstanding community service through screenings, external fundraisers and other charitable contributions.

Sexuality and Gender Alliance at Salus (SAGAS) 

Organization Leadership Excellence       
Organizational Leadership Excellence award is presented to an exceptional leader of any student organization. This student should serve as an executive officer of the organization and demonstrate leadership excellence.

Abigail Possinger ‘21AUD
Leader on the Rise 
The Leader on the Rise award is presented to a student from any program that displays remarkable growth in becoming a well-rounded leader on campus within his/her respective organization. This nominee should reflect someone who does not hold a formal title, but is seen as an extension of the executive board, or held a position designed for a first-year student, and goes beyond the call of duty.

Veronica Gonzales ‘21OD
Unsung Hero 
The Unsung Hero award is presented to a member of any student organization that does not serve in an executive officer role, but demonstrates dedication to the overall mission and activities of the organization in which they belong. The member may be someone who does a lot of work behind the scenes, but does not always receive recognition for their contributions.

Mercedes Smith ‘20OD
Other awards received were:

Outstanding Professor – Osborne College of Audiology
Amanda Marchegiani, AuD, instructor, Osborne College of Audiology   

Outstanding Professor – College of Health Sciences 
David Smith, PA-C, assistant professor, College of Health Sciences     

Outstanding Professor – College of Education and Rehabilitation
Andrea Tyszka, MS, OTR/L, SIPT, associate professor, Occupational Therapy

Outstanding Educator – College of Education and Rehabilitation
Robert Serianni, MS, CCC-SLP, clinical director, Speech-Language Institute

Outstanding Educator – College of Education and Rehabilitation
Fabiana Perla, EdD, COMS, CLVR, chair, Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies

Outstanding Educator – College of Education and Rehabilitation
Fern Silverman, EdD, OTR/L, assistant director, Doctoral Program in Occupational Therapy

Outstanding Professor – Pennsylvania College of Optometry 
Alissa Coyne, OD, FAAO, assistant professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry and staff optometrist: primary care and emergency service at The Eye Institute

Outstanding Preceptor – The Eye Institute   
Laine Higa, OD, assistant professor, Pennsylvania College of Optometry and primary care specialist at The Eye Institute
Outstanding Preceptor - Pennsylvania Ear Institute
Jenny Rajan, AuD, CCC-A, FAAA, assistant professor, Osborne College of Audiology and clinical educator at the Pennsylvania Ear Institute

Outstanding Preceptor – Speech-Language Institute
Kenneth Newton, MS, instructor, Speech-Language Pathology, and pediatric speech and language/adult speech, language cognitive and Dysphagia specialist at the Speech-Language Institute