Four of the University’s Pennsylvania College of Optometry (PCO) faculty members received fellowships at the American Academy of Optometry (AAO) and Third World Congress of Optometry 2019 annual conference Oct. 23-27 in Orlando, Fla.

Darryl Horn, PhD, Post-baccalaureate in Health Sciences program director; Nicholas Karbach, OD, PCO instructor; Stephanie Leburg, OD, PCO instructor; and Tracy Offerdahl-McGowan, BSc, PharmD, assistant professor in the PA program, Pharmacology and Therapeutics, each received their Fellowships in the American Academy of Optometry.

Salus PCO students and faculty arrived in Florida to join more than 8,000 students and professionals from across the globe. The event included more than 450 hours of continuing education with greater than 200 exhibitors, symposia, workshops, papers, posters, demonstrations, and the latest cutting-edge technology and research.

Travel Fellowship Awards were given to six former and current PCO residents, including
Drs. Lucinda Kauffman, Maria Adriaansen, Elizabeth Brooks, Vikarma Brooks, Nicole Poon, and Baljinder Momrath, who were also in attendance.

The AAO and World Council of Optometry hosted a Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony on Saturday Oct. 26, which celebrated the profession of optometry and honored the new Academy Fellows, Diplomates, and awards recipients.

Among the Salus PCO faculty that presented as diplomate prep course speakers were Stanley Hatch, OD, MPH, FAAO, chief of the Pediatric/Binocular Vision Services at The Eye Institute; Erin Jenewein, OD, MS, coordinator of the Pediatric/Vision Therapy Residency Program; and Satya Verma, OD, FAAO, FNAP, director of Externship Programs, Optometry; and symposia lecturers Erin Draper, OD,  FAAO, assistant professor at PCO; Bisant Labib, OD , FAAO, co-chief of Primary Care, Suite 3; and Kelly Malloy, OD , FAAO, chief, Neuro-Ophthalmic Disease at TEI.

Notable presentations were given throughout the week by a number of PCO’s own faculty and residents, including:

Drs. Linda Casser, Imran Khan - “Fundamentals of Leadership Part II: Putting Leadership into Action.”

Drs. James Fanelli, Leonard Messner, Lorraine Lombardi – “An Organized Approach to the Patient with Acute Vision Loss and Transient Visual Obscurations.”

Drs. Erin Jenewein, Siva Meiyeppen, Jenewein and Gidosh – “The Ins and Outs of Strabismus Management in Primary Care Practice.”

Drs. Jenewein and Gidosh – “Myopia Control as a New Standard of Care? Current Research and Classical Applications.”

Drs. Greg Caldwell and Offerdahl-McGowan – “Complications of Pharmaceuticals Every Optometrist Should Know.”

Drs. Joseph Sowka and Erin Draper – “Neuro-ophthalmic Disorders in Optometry SIG: The Lawrence Gray Memorial Symposium: Clinical Neuro-ophthalmic and Neuroradiologic Correlates.”

Drs. Malloy and Lombardi – “Pathways to a Proper Diagnosis.”

Drs. Joseph Sowka and Caldwell - “Neuro-ophthalmic Disorders Update.”

Drs. Malloy and Offerdahl-McGowan – “Neuro-ophthalmic Disease and Related Medications.”

Drs. Caldwell and Offerdahl-McGowan – “Pharmaceutical Update 2019: New Drugs and Indications.”
AAO faculty posters were presented by Drs. Draper, Gidosh, Lynn Greenspan, Alan Kabat, Doan Kwak, Alice Lim, Ashley Maglione, Andrew Meagher, Bhawan Minhas and Jean Marie Pagani.

Three students – Andrew Mucken, ’21OD; Samantha Spinatto ’21OD; and Mohit Bothra ’21OD – competed against other school for prizes in the Essilor Student Bowl. And, PCO students won the “Globetrotter Award – for have the most participants from the greatest number of states and countries – at Alcon’s “Hoop It Up challenge.”