The National Optometric Association (NOA) held its annual conference in Hilton Head, SC in early July. Faculty and students from the University’s Pennsylvania College of Optometry attended and several PCO students, members of the PCO chapter of NOSA (National Optometric Students Association) received awards.

Sadia Kalsoom ’17OD, former Salus/PCO chapter vice president, received the Walmart and Sam’s Club NOSA leadership Award, the Dr. Robert Johnson Pediatric/ Vision Therapy Award, placed second in the HOYA Educational Poster Award, and first place in the National Vision Essay Grant.

Courtney Goode ’17OD, current national treasurer for NOSA, is the national vice president-elect for NOSA 2016-2017, and was also awarded a scholarship honoring the legacy of Dr. Charles Comer.

Evelyn Dearing ’17OD, outgoing Salus/PCO NOSA chapter president received the John L. Howlette and C. Clayton Powell Student Founders Award.

NOA Convention 2015
Pictured above are (left to right) current Salus/PCO NOSA members: Julie Foster ’18OD; Fatimah Hassan ’18OD; Evelyn Dearing ’17OD; Stefanie Hwang ’16OD; Courtney Goode ’17OD; Sadia Kalsoom ’17OD and OluFunso Ojo ’17OD. Not pictured are other NOSA members in attendance: Deena Tailor; Paulina Hor; Michelle Tran; Emily DePew; Israel Chujor; AJ Pastor and Ryan Chia - all Class of 2017 - and Anuradha Rana ’18OD.