Saturday Spotlight: Presidential Medals Awardees

It takes a special community to ensure that the institution continues to be a leader in health science education.

In 1995, to commemorate the 75th anniversary of Salus University’s  founding college, the Pennsylvania College of Optometry (PCO), seventy-six people of note were awarded the President’s Medal of Honor. On Friday, April 26, 2019,  thirty-five additional notable individuals will be awarded Presidential Medals to commemorate the 100th anniversary of PCO and the 10th anniversary of Salus.  

Every Saturday leading up to Friday April 26, we will highlight a few of the new awardees.

Jim-Caldwell-pre-ceremony.jpgJames M. Caldwell, OD ‘89, Resident ‘90, FAAO, EdM

Dr. James Caldwell has held a number of key positions within the Pennsylvania College of Optometry (PCO) and Salus University. Currently the dean of Student Affairs, Dr. Caldwell previously served as the associate vice president of Academic Affairs, and the director of Admissions. He was a contributing member of the institutional committee that obtained the approval of Salus University from the Pennsylvania Department of Education. As a PCO clinical educator, Dr. Caldwell taught in the primary care modules of The Eye Institute (TEI), PCO’s clinical procedures lab, and several international and continuing education programs. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO), a long-standing member of the Pennsylvania and American Optometric Associations, and holds a degree in Higher Education Administration.

Kelly A. Malloy, OD ‘96, Resident ‘97, FAAO

Kelly MalloyDr. Kelly Malloy is an associate professor at PCO and chief of the Neuro-Ophthalmic Disease at TEI. She is also an instructor of Head and Neck Anatomy, Neuroanatomy, and Neuro-Ophthalmic Disease Courses at PCO. Dr. Malloy is a Fellow of the AAO and is currently the only diplomat in neuro-ophthalmic disorders. She is a founding officer of the AAO Neuro-Ophthalmic Disorders Special Interest Group, and is its Educational Programs sub-chair. Dr. Malloy has multiple publications, and lectures extensively both nationally and internationally.  She co-created the first and only optometric Neuro-Ophthalmic Disease residency at TEI in order to formally train more optometrists in this important clinical specialty.

Leonard Messner, OD ‘84, Resident ‘85, FAAO

Messner_Leonard_thumb_B.jpgDr. Leonard V. Messner is the vice president for Patient Care Services for the Illinois College of Optometry and professor of Optometry.

He is the immediate past chair of the Neuro-ophthalmic Disorders Special Interest Group of the AAO, and a member of the advisory board of the Concussion Legacy Foundation and serves on the Concussion Research Committee of the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society. 

Dr. Messner’s predominant research interests include vision, ocular structure and visual motor abnormalities with concussion, the eye movements associated with the physical act of reading, idiopathic intracranial hypertension, optic neuritis and diabetic retinopathy and age-related macular degeneration.  He is the author of numerous peer-reviewed publications and textbook chapters in the areas of neuro-ophthalmic disorders and vitreoretinal disease.

He is a two-time recipient of the AAO’s Service Appreciation award, the 2012 recipient of the Illinois College of Optometry’s Alumni Council Educator of the Year and was recognized as the Optometrist of the Year in Illinois in 2013.  He is also a 23-time recipient of the “Teacher of the Year” award at the Illinois College of Optometry.