awardsThe Second Annual Salus Awards Gala was a great success. The Campus Activities Committee  thought of every detail when planning and organizing this event. Held at the Abington Arts Center, even a very rainy evening could not dim the crowd’s enthusiasm and spirit of fun.
In the art center galleries, Salus faculty, administrators, staff and students mingled over drinks and hors d’oeuvres, with an assist from a trio of live musicians before going into dinner.
The evening’s hosts provided a warm welcome and many laughs during the evening. The hosts were Jenna Roney '17OD, Alexis Conte '17AUD, Eric Reuter 'OT16, Michelle Ciancia '18AUD, ReBecca Sorenson '18OD and Brian Johnson '18OD.
2nd Annual Salus Awards Gala HostsAwardees were chosen by balloting and the use of a point system. Most nominees were present and the winners were announced at the dinner. The evening allowed members of the Salus community to relax and enjoy the company of friends and colleagues while acknowledging its members for their outstanding contributions to the University.
The 2015 Salus Awards Winners are:
Helping Hand Award - Larry Fulbright, Manager of The Cafe, Culinart
This award is presented to the most approachable and/or caring faculty or staff member at Salus University; someone who goes above and beyond to help students and ensure their success.
The Social Event of the Year Award- Student Occupational Therapy Association,   
MS Muckfest Mud Run
This award is presented to the student organization that has provided a remarkable opportunity for students to encourage involvement and to interact positively with their peers and the Salus community in an event held between December 1, 2014 and October 1, 2015.
The Spirit of Salus Community Service Award- Lions Club International, Salus PCO chapter
The “Spirit of Salus” Community Service Award is presented to the student organization that displays outstanding community service through screenings, external fundraisers, and other charitable contributions.
Second Annual Salus Awards GalaStudent Organization Advisor of the Year Award- Monae Kelsey, associate director, Student Engagement
The Student Organization Advisor of the Year Award is presented to the most dedicated faculty or staff member who serves as an advisor to a registered student organization at Salus University.  This faculty or staff member goes above and beyond their role in order to ensure the organization attains their goals and realizes their mission.
Unsung Hero Award- Michelle Ciancia ’18AUD
This award is presented to a member of any student organization who does not serve in an executive officer role and demonstrates dedication to the overall mission and activities of the organization to which they belong; someone who works behind the scenes and does not always receive recognition for their contributions.

Organizational Leadership Excellence Award- Eric Reuter ’16OT
The Organizational Leadership Excellence Award is presented to an exceptional leader of any student organization.  This student should serve as an executive officer of the organization and demonstrate leadership excellence.
Outstanding Clinical Preceptor of the Year
This award is presented to a clinical preceptor at each of our Salus clinical facilities who displays an outstanding commitment to excellence in clinical education and professional practice.
The Eye Institute: Dr. Bhawan Minhas
Pennsylvania Ear Institute:
Dr. Rebecca Blaha
Speech-Language Institute: Ms. Patricia Mayro, CCC-SLP
Outstanding Professor of the Year Award
This award is presented to an outstanding full-time or adjunct faculty member in recognition of their outstanding contributions towards the academic achievements of Salus students.
College of Education & Rehabilitation: Dr. Lauren Sponseller
College of Health Sciences: Ms. Joy Henderson, PA-C
Osborne College of Audiology: Dr. Amanda Marchegiani
Pennsylvania College of Optometry: Dr. Kelly Malloy
Steadfast Service Department of the Year Award- Office of Safety and Security
The Steadfast Service Department of the Year Award is presented to the most supportive and dedicated department at Salus University. 
Emerging Professional Student of the Year Award- Sean Fuster ’17AUD
This award is presented to a student from any program who is a student leader and displays remarkable academic and extracurricular achievements, with the expectation that this student will likely become a distinguished professional in his/her future vocation, and be an exemplary representative of Salus University as an alumnus.

The Onofrey G. Rybachok Memorial Educator of the Year Award- Dr. Joan Wing
(presented by Dr. Michael H. Mittelman ’80, former student and student assistant to Dr. Rybachok)
Dr. Rybachok, or “Rybie,” as he was affectionately called, was a member of the PCO faculty from 1937 until his retirement in 1978. His courses and teaching methods are legendary among alumni.  Whether in the laboratory or the lecture hall, his teaching always conveyed the excitement and love he felt for his specialty and his interest in and empathy for students. When he retired, Student Council honored him by establishing this award in his name to commemorate Dr. Rybachok’s extensive years of excellence in teaching. It is presented to the instructor whom the students and faculty acknowledge as the most valuable academic professor across all programs at Salus University.
The Crozier Cup Student Organization of the Year Award- Student Occupational Therapy Association (SOTA) (presented by Dr. James Caldwell ’89 and Dr. Georgia Crozier ’84)                                                                       
The Crozier Cup is named for Dr. John J. Crozier ’48, PCO vice president and dean of Student Affairs, who was noted for his dedication to instilling the virtues of professionalism, responsibility and pride in students. “Dr. John” was a teacher and mentor to countless PCO students and alumni during his years of service (1965-1991), which began with a directorship in Admissions and as Registrar. The award was presented by Dr. Caldwell, who was a work-study student for Dr. John, and his niece, Dr. Georgia Crozier.
The 2015-2016 Student Council Executive Board members were announced by current president, Jenna Roney ’17OD.
President: Elizabeth Nace
Vice President: Katharine Funari
Secretary: Roxanne Chalifoux
Treasurer: Katrina Smith
Photos by Ryan Chia & AJ Pastor