Honoring Dr. Jeffrey Nyman and Dr. Neal Nyman
placed here only to preload the colorbox scripts
Skip to Main Content

Honoring Dr. Jeffrey Nyman and Dr. Neal Nyman

Drs. Neal and Jeff Nyman The contributions Drs. Jeffrey Nyman and Neal Nyman have made to the advancement of both optometric education and the profession, as well as the careers of more than 7,000 former students and residents, cannot be overstated. 

It is for these reasons and so many more that Salus University has chosen to honor them. Please join us in saying thank you to these exceptional clinical educators by making a meaningful gift toward our goal of $100,000. All proceeds will be used to create a scholarship for PCO students with input from both Drs. Nyman and the dean’s office.

A pioneer in the profession of optometry, Dr. Jeffrey Nyman elevated the value of a PCO/Salus degree and the optometric profession as a whole. As chief of Emergency Services at The Eye Institute (TEI) for the entirety of his career, with a sincere commitment to his patients, Dr. Jeffrey Nyman has enabled PCO graduates to distinguish themselves through increased expertise in patient care. Additionally, in the delivery and supervising of routine and urgent care, Dr. Nyman has mentored students and residents, making them some of the most talented optometric providers in the country. 

For nearly 35 years, Neal Nyman served as the chief of Primary Care Module Four in the former TEI and then as chief of Primary Care Suite Three in the renovated facility. The team room represents a teaching space within the primary care suites where clinical mentor-mentee relationships flourish and where Neal impacted his students and residents with his quietly competent and compassionate teaching style.

The University will honor Dr. Jeffrey Nyman and Dr. Neal Nyman by dedicating a plaque in their honor at the emergency area of TEI. 

To learn more about the Nyman brothers' PCO journey, please follow their story online at salus.edu/Nyman.

Related Posts

New Articulation Agreement with DeSales University

Commencement 2024: Post-bacc Program a Foundation for Success

Presidential Medal of Honor 2024: Jim Saviola, OD ‘85

Dr. Mittelman Accepts Inaugural Aerospace Optometry Award Named in His Honor