by Caitlyn Foy, MOTR/L

The University's Occupational Therapy department was busy presenting and learning last month at the American Occupational Therapy Association's (AOTA) national conference in Nashville, TN. 

We used this conference as an opportunity to market our post-professional Doctor of Occupational Therapy (OTD) degree program and received a lot of interest from conference attendees about the OTD program.  

Additionally, we were lucky to have our Student Occupational Therapy Association (SOTA) elected board members - all Class of 2016 - Eric Reuter, Lauren Frabizzio, Rajvi Vora and Lindsey Britt at the conference to represent the program, the University and our student body. 

Kate Hartnett '15OT, was one of only seven OT students nationwide to receive the prestigious Alice Jantzen Memorial Scholarship from the American Occupational Therapy Foundation at the conference.

We had a total of five Salus faculty presenters at the conference this year, including Dr. Fern Silverman, program director; Dr. Ruth Farber,associate professor; Dr. Lauren Sponseller, coordinator of academic fieldwork; Dr. Andrea Tyszka, assistant professor, and myself.